The Children of Odin by Padraic Colum

  • Click to enlarge
  • Click to enlarge
  • Click to enlarge
  • Click to enlarge
  • Click to enlarge
The Children of Odin by Padraic Colum

Tap for gallery


Product Information

Originally published in 1920, The Children of Odin is a great collection of the Norse myths and legends retold by master storyteller Padraic Colum, in an easy-to-follow chronological order from the creation of the Worlds to Ragnarok.

This classic book is a fantastic gateway for children and young audience to learn the basics of Norse mythology.

Please note: This digital reprint is NOT a widely-available, e-Text version. Instead, it is a top-quality, electronic facsimile version of the actual book published in 1920, featuring many black-and-white drawings and 4 full-page color plates.

Contents Covered:

  • Part 1: The Dwellers in Asgard
    • Far Away and Long Ago
    • The Building of the Wall
    • Iduna and Her Apples: How Loki Put the Gods in Danger
    • Sif's Golden Hair: How Loki Wrought Mischief in Asgard
    • How Brock the Dwarf Brought Judgment on Loki
    • How Freya Gained Her Necklace and How Her Loved One Was Lost to Her
    • How Frey Won Gerda, the Giant Maiden, and How He Lost His Magic Sword
    • Heimdall and Little Hnossa: How All Things Came to Be
    • The All-Father's Forebodings: How He Leaves Asgard
  • Part 2: Odin the Wanderer
    • Odin Goes to Mimir's Well: His Sacrifice for Wisdom
    • Odin Faces an Evil Man
    • Odin Wins for Men the Magic Mead
    • Odin Tells to Vidar, His Silent Son, the Secret of His Doings
    • Thor and Loki in the Giants' City
    • How Thor and Loki Befooled Thrym the Giant
    • Ægir's Feast: How Thor Triumphed
    • The Dwarfs Hoard, and the Curse that It Brought
  • Part 3: The Witch's Heart
    • Foreboding in Asgard
    • Loki the Betrayer
    • Loki against the Æsir
    • The Valkyrie
    • The Children of Loki
    • Baldur's Doom
    • Loki's Punishment
  • Part 4: The Sword of the Volsungs and the Twilight of the Gods
    • Sigurd's Youth
    • The Sword Gram and the Dragon Fafnir
    • The Dragon's Blood
    • The Story of Sigmund and Signy
    • The Story of Sigmund and Sinfiotli
    • The Story of the Vengeance of the Volsungs and of the Death of Sinfiotli
    • Brynhild in the House of Flame
    • Sigurd at the House of the Nibelungs
    • How Brynhild Was Won for Gunnar
    • The Death of Sigurd
    • The Twilight of the Gods
Format: PDF Digital Reprint, e-Facsimile
No. of Pages: 293
Page Size: A4 (210mm × 297mm)
Download Size: 75.9 MB
Product Code THE60FIM92

This field is required.